Five Places I Want to Visit Really Bad

When this post “assignment” came up I immediately thought I’d know exactly what to put down. I have always had the travel bug, and I know there are countless places I want to visit. However, I didn’t, and quite frankly still don’t, know how to go about organizing it, so I’m just going to wing it. Y’all will have to bear with me for a few minutes.

Biggest one first….
Europe — I know this seems generic, but I literally couldn’t choose what parts of Europe I’d want to go to most. Ireland has always been my number one over everything. rock of cashel, ireland.jpgThe history, the culture, the food…what isn’t to love about the lands of the Irish? My ancestors came over from Ireland in the 1800’s, and there is nothing I’ve wanted to do more than go back and visit their land.

Then again, the same thing can be said for Germany, which is the second in Europe on my list. Between Ireland and Germany, most of my heritage is from those countries. My mother is the genealogist for her father’s side, and most, if not all, of his family is straight from Germany. She has even traced it back to before the immigrated to the United States. The food and culture are two of the most intriguing parts of Germany for me. Lichtenstein CastleWhen I was in high school I took German, and then I decided to continue my lingual education after I graduated. I love the Germanic language.

The third, fourth, fifth, and sixth countries in Europe I’d love to visit are England, Spain, Scotland, and Italy. Between being a huge history buff and also a huge food buff, I think taking a cultural trip to these countries would be absolutely breathtaking. You’ve got Parliament in London, the Segrada Familia in Barcelona, Edinburgh Castle in Edinburgh, and the Trevi Fountain in Rome…segrada familiaJust thinking about it makes me excited to plan one heck of a trip. Let’s not forget to mention all of the other historical sites. I’m talking about the castles, libraries, theaters, cathedrals, etc. that make up the entire history of the European culture.

Anyway, onto the second….
Tokyo — Anyone who knows my fiance and I knows that we are die-hard anime fans. Yes, we watch them in Japanese. Yes, we prefer them in Japanese. Yes, we even have anime memorabilia in our home. It’s not just the anime that intrigues me about Japan, though. It’s the fact that their culture is so different than the Western world’s. cherry blossoms in tokyo.jpgWho wouldn’t want to visit Harajuku? I have a friend who lives in Japan, and his tails of his travels to Tokyo has made me want to go even more. The pictures he’s taken are absolutely awesome, and encourage my need to go there one day. I know that my fiance is just as interested in going to Japan as I am, and that too makes it a greater desire.

Thirdly…
Mexico — I mean, who doesn’t wanna visit a place that has everything it does?
History, towering mountains, sandy beaches, cities of the ancient world? I can’t exactly tell you what place in Mexico I’d like to visit because quite frankly there are so many. The Mayan Ruins are on the top of the list. san miguel de allendeI can’t think of a better place to enjoy the history of Mexico like them.
Number four goes to…
The Caribbean — And guess what! Our honeymoon is in Jamaica. That being said, we are probably not going to do much outside of our resort, so the next time we’re looking for some fun in the sun I’m sure we’ll be booking a flight to one of the Caribbean’s beautiful islands again. I’m so excited that we’re honeymooning in Jamaica because it’s always been a dream of mine to visit somewhere outside North America. montego bayThe only country I’ve gone to outside the USA is Canada, and quite frankly I don’t count that because I’ve lived my whole life within an hour and a half from the Ambassador’s Bridge that leads into Windsor, Ontario.

Lastly…
The Rocky Mountains — More specifically, I’d love to visit the Rockies of Canada. Alberta is known to have some of the most picturesque views on the whole continent, and it’s a goal of mine to visit there some day. lake louise.jpgI’d also like to visit the US’ Rockies because when I think of the West they’re always what I think about first. When I was 14 years old I went on a class trip to Arizona for a week, and when we were passing over the Rockies in the plane I remember, very vividly, looking down and seeing the snow-covered peaks. I want to see them eye-level; where I can really get a good look and appreciate them.

So that basically concludes the top 5 places that are on my bucket list at the moment. I want to travel all over, but these 5 tend to stick out like a sore thumb when I’m thinking about future vacations. They’re full of adventure and history, culture and amazing food, and hopefully good memories for my family in the future.

Pictures in order of listing:
1) Rock of Cashel – County Tipperary, Ireland
2) Lichtenstein Castle – Lichtenstein, Black Forest, Germany
3) The Segrada Familia – Barcelona, Spain
4) Cherry Blossoms on Meguro River – Tokyo, Japan
5) San Miguel de Allende – Guanajuato, Mexico
6) Montego Bay – Montego Bay, Jamaica
7) Lake Louise – Alberta, Canada

2 thoughts on “Five Places I Want to Visit Really Bad

Leave a Reply

